Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

You are here: Home / Governance / Town Council and Manager

Town Council and Manager

Council of the Village of Chevy Chase Section 5

Greg Chernack, Chair
Serving since: April 2016, Current Term ends: May 2025

Josh Galper, Vice-Chair
Serving since: May 2020, Current Term ends: May 2026

Sean Downey, Councilmember
Serving since: May 2023, Current Term ends: May 2025

Philip Giordano, Councilmember
Serving since: May 2019, Current Term ends: May 2025

Emily Strulson, Councilmember
Serving since: May 2024, Current Term ends: May 2026

Section 5 Manager

Ashley E. Kavanaugh, Town Manager
Section 5 Office: 301-986-5481

Eligibility to serve on the Council

Residents of Section 5 are encouraged to stand for election to serve on the Council. Each sitting member of Council serves a two year term after which they must stand for re-election unless there is no other candidate.

Elections take place once a year at the Annual Meeting of the Section Council and Residents.

Each person who on the 30th day before the Annual Meeting is a resident of Section 5 and is a registered voter in the State of Maryland, shall be eligible to vote in the election of Council Members or to place their name for nomination for election to the Council.

Deadline for nominations for Council Members is thirty days prior to the Annual Meeting. The Annual Meeting is generally held the second Tuesday in May. Nominations must be submitted in writing to the Town Manager.